Superintendents Network

Central Rivers AEA Superintendents typically meet on the first Thursday of each month from September through May at Central Rivers AEA located at 1521 Technology Parkway, Cedar Falls. Times may vary depending on the professional learning scheduled for the meeting.  Agendas and calendar invitations will be sent out before each meeting.

2023-24 Meeting Dates

For more information, please contact Lori Thomas, Executive Assistant/Board Secretary.

Superintendents Advisory Committee

The purpose of the Superintendents’ Advisory Committee is to provide a forum for both the planning and evaluation of the monthly Superintendents’ meetings. The committee also advises the Chief Administrator in relationship issues between local school districts and Central Rivers AEA.

Member Responsibilities

Collaborate to plan monthly meetings that are meaningful and of high interest to all superintendents served by Central Rivers AEA.

Quarterly Meeting Dates, Agendas & Minutes

  • Thursday, September 7, 2023: Cedar Falls Conference Center following the Superintendents’ Meeting
  • Wednesday, November 8, 2023: Held virtually
  • Wednesday, February 7, 2024:  Held virtually
  • Thursday, April 2, 2024 at 12:30 pm: Cedar Falls Conference Center following the Superintendents’ Meeting
  • Thursday, May 2, 2024: Cedar Falls Conference Center following the Superintendents’ Meeting

All meetings will be held from 1:00 – 2:30 pm unless otherwise noted

2023-24 Committee Members


  • Dr. Adam Zellmer, Eldora-New Providence CSD & Hubbard-Radcliffe CSD

At Large

  • Dr. Andy Pattee, Cedar Falls CSD
  • Dr. Jared Smith, Waterloo CSD
  • Barb Schwamman, Osage CSD

Northeast Sector

  • Brad Laures, Denver CSD
  • Dr. Ed Klamfoth, Waverly-Shell Rock CSD
  • Todd Liechty, Nashua-Plainfield CSD & RRMR CSD

Northwest Sector

  • Mike Kruger, West Fork CSD
  • Erik Smith, AGWSR CSD
  • Aaron Becker, Hampton-Dumont CSD

South Sector

  • Brad Hohensee, BGM CSD
  • Tony Ryan, East Marshall CSD
  • David Hill, North Tama CSD

East Sector

  • Dan Fox, East Buchanan CSD
  • Jay Marley, Tripoli CSD
  • Chad Kohagen, Jesup CSD

Central Rivers AEA Leadership Team

  • Joel Pedersen, Chief Administrator
  • Karl Kurt, Assistant Chief Administrator/Director of HR
  • Michael Kalvig, Chief Financial Officer
  • Beth Strike, Director of Creative Services & Communications
  • Amy Knupp, Executive Director of Special Education
  • Jen Sigrist, Executive Director of Educational Services
  • Rod Ball, Director of Special Programs
  • Kay Schmalen, Director of Professional Learning
  • Sarah Nelson, Director of Information Technology/Special Programs
  • Cari Teske, Director of Media

Past year’s meeting minutes

For more information, please contact Joel Pedersen, Chief Administrator or Lori Thomas, Executive Assistant/Board Secretary.

Important Contacts

Staff Directory