Two new board members join Central Rivers AEA

Five seats were up for election this year on the Central Rivers AEA Board of Directors. Re-elected were Dr. Darshini Jayawardena, Director District 4, Maureen Hanson, Director District 6, and Dennis Craun, Jr., Director District 9.  Two open seats, vacated by the recent retirements of board members Dr. George North and David Giese, have been filled by Kathryn Enslin, Director District 3 and Dr. Mary Stevens, Director District 5.

Kathy Enslin

Kathryn Enslin, Director District 3

Kathryn Enslin fills the seat left open by the retirement of Dr. George North, long-time AEA Board member. District 3 represents the school districts of AGWSR, Alden, Aplington-Parkersburg, CAL, Clarksville, Eldora-New Providence, Grundy Center, Hampton-Dumont, Hubbard-Radcliffe, Iowa Falls, and North Butler.

Ms. Enslin earned a BS in Science and Humanities, an MS in Special Education Leadership, and a Specialist degree in Educational Leadership from Iowa State University, Mankato State University, and Minnesota State University. She has worked as a teacher in both the US and England, a principal, and a superintendent prior to serving as the Assistant Chief Administrator/Director of HR at Central Rivers AEA until her retirement in 2016.

Ms. Enslin and her husband, Kenny, farm in rural Ackley and have three grown children and two grandchildren.

When asked why she ran for the AEA board, Ms. Enslin said, “I feel that the Central Rivers AEA is an outstanding intermediate agency that puts kids first and one that has a rich tradition of service and support for students, educators, leaders and families. I look forward to being a member of such a dynamic and progressive service organization.”



Dr. Mary Stevens

Dr. Mary Stevens, Director District 5

Dr. Mary Stevens was elected to fill the seat previously held by David Giese, who retired after many years of service as both an educator & board member. District 5 represents the school districts of BCLUW, East Marshall, GMG, Marshalltown, and West Marshall.

Dr. Stevens graduated from the College of St. Catherine in St. Paul, Minnesota with a BA in Social Work and received an Ed.S. and Ph.D. in School Psychology from the University of Iowa. She worked as a school psychologist in Minnesota, Illinois, and in Iowa, first at AEA 5 in Fort Dodge and then AEA 6 in Marshalltown. After the AEA merger, Stevens became an Area Director at Central Rivers AEA. She served as the Executive Director of Special Education until her retirement in 2017. 

Dr. Stevens and her husband, John, live in Marshalltown and have two grown children and a granddaughter, Phoebe.

Dr. Stevens shared, “I am very excited to serve as a member of Central Rivers AEA Board of Directors because the AEA is such a vital partner with the local school districts in creating possibilities for children, families and educators. As a board member I have the opportunity to give back and continue to support the important work of Central Rivers AEA.”



“We feel very grateful to have Ms. Enslin’s and Dr. Steven’s backgrounds and experiences on our board,” said Sam Miller, Central Rivers AEA Chief Administrator. “Both have a true passion for serving students and have spent their careers as leaders. They will both be great assets to our organization.”

Welcome to Central Rivers AEA!