Literacy

Welcome to the Central Rivers AEA Literacy website! Here you will find information, resources, and tools to improve literacy education for all students.


Literacy Blog

Check out our blog to learn more about current happenings in literacy within and beyond our agency!


Iowa Core ELA Standards

“The Common Core State Standards for English Language Arts & Literacy in History/Social Studies, Science, and Technical Subjects (“the standards”) represent the next generation of K–12 standards designed to prepare all students for success in college, career, and life by the time they graduate from high school.” (National Governors Association Center for Best Practices, Council of Chief State School Officers, 2010)

Standards can be accessed through the Iowa Core.gov website. Additionally, Iowa Core Standards-Based Rubrics and ELA Learning Progressions can be found in the Assessment tab of the CRAEA website.


Helpful Literacy Sites


Contact Us

Have a Question? Want to Know More? Contact your Literacy Services Coordinator!

Region Name Office Title Email
1 Andrea Raber Clear Lake Consultant for Reading/Language Arts araber@centralriversaea.org
2 Ashley Bultje Clear Lake Consultant for Reading/Language Arts abultje@centralriversaea.org
3 Kelly Westley Cedar Falls Consultant for Reading/Language Arts kwestley@centralriversaea.org
4 Sue Longcor Clear Lake Consultant for Reading/Language Arts slongcor@centralriversaea.org
5 Tina Graven Cedar Falls Consultant for Reading/Language Arts tgraven@centralriversaea.org
6 Teri Boezinger Cedar Falls Consultant for Reading/Language Arts tboezinger@centralriversaea.org
7 Kelsey Bowers Cedar Falls Consultant for Reading/Language Arts kbowers@centralriversaea.org
8 Holly Ritter Cedar Falls Consultant for Reading/Language Arts hritter@centralriversaea.org 
9 Jama Johnson Marshalltown Consultant for Reading/Language Arts jamajohnson@centralriversaea.org
10 Melissa Blohm Cedar Falls Consultant for Reading/Language Arts mblohm@centralriversaea.org
11 Abby Weiland Marshalltown Consultant for Reading/Language Arts aweiland@centralriversaea.org
All Danielle Hakeman Cedar Falls Dyslexia Specialist dhakeman@centralriversaea.org

Stay Connected

Follow us on Facebook and Twitter!