Literacy

Welcome to the Central Rivers AEA Literacy website! Here you will find information, resources, and tools to improve literacy education for all students.


FREE Virtual Literacy Summit

Virtual SummitAugust 10, 2021  8:30-3:30

https://aealearning.truenorthlogic.com/
Course #201422, Section #306945

This one-day Virtual Literacy Summit is designed to provide educators with an opportunity to learn high-impact literacy approaches. This FREE event will include sessions to engage participants in learning that supports the implementation of research-informed and highly practical strategies for literacy learning. Participants will deep dive into the topics around comprehensive literacy that matter most to educators today. You will leave this summit with new skills, fresh knowledge, and the motivation to apply what you’ve learned.
The best part? You get to do it all from the comfort of your home and access every session, even after the event has concluded.

Session topics to include…

  • Comprehension
  • Phonological Awareness & Phonics
  • Strategies for Struggling Readers
  • Learning Intentions & Success Criteria
  • Feedback
  • Much More!

After registering, participants will be emailed the log-in information, schedule, and session sign-up in July. For more information, view flyer here.


FREE Virtual Webinar Series

Held the second Tuesday of each month @ 4:00 p.m.What Matters Most

Join us via Zoom for our FREE Virtual Webinar Series titled What Matters Most: Mindframes for Teaching and Leading hosted by CRAEA literacy consultants on the second Tuesday of each month at 4:00 p.m. In their book, 10 Mindframes for Visible Learning: Teaching for Success, Hattie and Zierer (2018) define ten mindframes that teachers and leaders must adopt in order to maximize impact on student learning. Each month, we’ll unpack a mindframe and provide highly practical strategies for implementing the research in your setting.  The 10 mindframes will change the way you look at teaching, coaching, and leading schools.

Registration information available here


Literacy Blog

Check out our blog to learn more about current happenings in literacy within and beyond our agency!


Iowa Core ELA Standards

“The Common Core State Standards for English Language Arts & Literacy in History/Social Studies, Science, and Technical Subjects (“the standards”) represent the next generation of K–12 standards designed to prepare all students for success in college, career, and life by the time they graduate from high school.” (National Governors Association Center for Best Practices, Council of Chief State School Officers, 2010)

Standards can be accessed through the Iowa Core.gov website. Additionally, Iowa Core Standards-Based Rubrics and ELA Learning Progressions can be found in the Assessment tab of the CRAEA website.


Helpful Literacy Sites


Contact Us

Have a Question? Want to Know More? Contact a Literacy Consultant!

Region Name Office Title Email
1 Andrea Raber Clear Lake Consultant for Reading/Language Arts araber@centralriversaea.org
2 Ashley Bultje Clear Lake Consultant for Reading/Language Arts abultje@centralriversaea.org
3 Kelly Westley Cedar Falls Consultant for Reading/Language Arts kwestley@centralriversaea.org
4 Sue Longcor Clear Lake Consultant for Reading/Language Arts slongcor@centralriversaea.org
5 Tina Graven Cedar Falls Consultant for Reading/Language Arts tgraven@centralriversaea.org
6 Teri Boezinger Cedar Falls Consultant for Reading/Language Arts tboezinger@centralriversaea.org
7 Kelsey Bowers Cedar Falls Consultant for Reading/Language Arts kbowers@centralriversaea.org
8 Holly Ritter Cedar Falls Consultant for Reading/Language Arts hritter@centralriversaea.org 
9 Danielle Hakeman Marshalltown Consultant for Reading/Language Arts dhakeman@centralriversaea.org
10 Melissa Blohm Cedar Falls Consultant for Reading/Language Arts mblohm@centralriversaea.org
11 Tami Huck Marshalltown Consultant for Reading/Language Arts thuck@centralriversaea.org
All Jan Williams Clear Lake Reading Recovery Teacher Leader jwilliams@centralriversaea.org

Stay Connected

Follow us on Facebook and Twitter!