English Language Proficiency Standards have been adopted by the Iowa State Board of Education for grades k-12.  These new standards correspond to knowledge about language and the skills of using language that is neseccary for the English Learner’s success in the Iowa Core.  Standards within the grade bands are differentiated by proficiency level.  All districts are required to implement the new ELP standards and complete the statewide training.

The Title III Citations and Responses document provides districts with extended information on the standards and the required trainings.

**The Department of Education released an e-mail on May 6, 2016 with updates the to Title III Citations and Responses (listed above).  Please view the IDE e-mail update to federal citations 5.6.16.  Central Rivers AEA will update our website as clarifications are made around this information.

As the district reviews guidance and determines which teachers need to receive the ELP standards training, the team may wish to review the OCR/DOJ Dear Colleague letter for guidance regarding district responsibilities at the federal level.

ELP Standards training will be delivered in phases (listed in the document above also).  Modules 1, 2, and 3 are available at this time. Modules 4, 5, and 6 will have a staggered release through the 2016-2017 school year.

Accessing the ELP training modules:

1. Go to the AEA PD Online training site

2. Create an account/log in

3. Using the Search box type in the Module:

ELP Standards Module 1
ELP Standards Module 2
ELP Standards Module 3

4. Register


* Upon completion of each Module participants will receive a certificate.