Becoming tech savvy with math instruction


As I create blended and asynchronous courses I am finding that half of my time prepping is just figuring out the technology to provide a solid learning experience that allows best practice in math instruction to continue in these new learning formats.  I know I can’t exactly replicate that in-person connection and engagement such as with mathematical discourse, critiquing each other’s reasoning, and other essential practices, but I can come close.  

 

Something I have come to realize is that I need to plan for student learning first. 

  • What are the math content standards and standards for mathematical practice I am planning for? IMG 8105
  • By the end of my lesson or learning experience, what do I want my students to be able to do or understand? What are my goals for students?                 
  • What content or learning experience do I want my students engaged in? 
  • How will the students show or prove their learning?
  • What are my goals for myself as a teacher?

After this planning, I can now think about a tech tool or tools to best replicate the essential practices I would have had my students engaged in if we were in the classroom under normal circumstances. To help narrow the tech tool search Central Rivers offers learning pathways to inform you about using Flipgrid, Edpuzzle, PearDeck, and Screencastify, if you are in need of additional tech tools. 

 

Annotation 2020 04 29 140212

Amie Smith is a Central Rivers’ Math Consultant serving the Northeast Sector. Reach out to her or any one of our consultants for support with math or technology. 

 

 

 

Math: 

Jeff Struck: South Sector jstruck@centralriversaea.org

Jennifer Schilling: Northwest Sector jschilling@centralriversaea.org

Kenzie Hakeman: East Sector mhakeman@centralriversaea.org

Amie Smith: Northeast Sector amiesmith@centralriversaea.org

 

Technology:

Ryan Andreassen: Regions 7,8 randreassen@centralriversaea.org 

Michelle Meier: Regions 5,6,9,11 mmeier@centralriversaea.org

Sarah Nelson: Region 10 randreassen@centralriversaea.org

Kay Schmalen: Regions 1,2,4 kschmalen@centralriversaea.org

Cari Teske: Region 3 cteske@centralriversaea.org   

 

Beginning in January 2021 the CRAEA Math Team is offering Math Responsive Teaching at the elementary and secondary levels as well as a new math fluency basic facts course.